Green Running Machine


Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Is anyone celebrating?

I went for a little run today…

IMG_1787[1]

With 2030 other people!  The Cottleville Race for the Helmet 7k is my first race for 2012, and I’m ready to sign up for more! Race adrenaline is the best.

IMG_1785[1]

For Cottleville being such a little county, I was surprised to see how many people were there, raring to go at 9 a.m. As of last night, I thought it started at 8 a.m. – I’m so glad I double checked.

The run ended up going really well – I ran 15 seconds faster than I did in the last race!  Even though I didn’t place like I did for the Missouri Masters Run (3 in my age group) and and The Chesterfield Pumpkin Run (1st in my age group and 19 overall), I didn’t mind one bit. The fact that I conquered the hills without a struggle and was able to feel the sun on my shoulders made it a great race. 

Run for the Helmet 7K 2011
Find more Run in St Charles, MO

(This might not load due to the crazy storm we’re having.  Sorry!)

 

Afterward, I grabbed a beer – I drank about a 1/3 of it – a water, a bagel (which turned into lunch), and a clementine. I generally only like beer while I’m in Germany, but it tasted so good after the run!

Then I headed over to the post-race massage table to get my calves worked on…that part was only half enjoyable.  The massages were being done by the therapists who I used to see for Achilles tendinosis and impinged nerves in my hips, only I ended up cancelling my weekly appointments when the bills ran too high. Unfortunately they recognized me, and after pounding on my calves, I was told that I need to start coming back because my Achilles are a lot worse.  Ooops.  Yeah, can they fix me for free, please?

After that, I stayed to help out at the Smoothie King booth, handed out a million smoothie, and hauled a bunch of coolers back to the SK van.  And then I walked two miles back home. Smile  I walked extra fast because I wanted to eat my bagel.

Oh, and since I wanted to be festive, I ate a bunch of this:

image

No green beer, just kale!

Now I’m off to work at Smoothie King – given the number of coupons we gave out today, I have a feeling we’re going to be swamped.  Maybe – just maybe – the storm will keep business a little less than insane.

For now, I’m counting down the hours until I can come back and make some Irish ice cream.  And, yes, there will be a recipe!

If you are looking for anything festive and vegan to make today, check out:

Katie’s St. Patrick’s Day post recipes: including her Mint Chocolate Cupcakes.

Angela’s Homemade Bailey’s Irish Cream (I really want to make this now)

Averie’s Spinach and Artichoke Dip (vegan and fat free)

All of Mama Pea’s gloriously green recipes, like her Cilantro Jalepeno Hummus.

image

2 thoughts on “Green Running Machine

Leave a comment