Out for Good?


 

I don’t know how many times I’ve said/thought this today, but this weather is so BEAUTIFUL! I just had to take my work to the Starbucks patio today, and I almost don’t care that I can barely see my computer screen in the sunlight.  There are worse things.

IMG_1775

I’d smile, but there is a lady nearby who thinks I’m weird.

By the way, do you see how huge that coffee is?!! It’s a Trenta and it dwarfs the venti!  Perfect Zumba pregame fuel.

IMG_1757

So anyway.

IMG_1731

The above breakfast was  from March 3.  Regular oatmeal jazzed up with goji berries, my new love. That was almost 12 days ago, and it was the last time I ate – or stayed the night– at my parents house.

Yep, I’ve moved out.  And aside from dropping by last week to pick up some clothes and a school book and this morning to get some Spring clothes, I haven’t been back since then.  It’s a complicated story, but basically, I was ready to leave and my parents were ready for me to leave.  Tensions were running high, patience was running low.  As much as I love my parents and brothers, living there was having a very negative effect on my daily mood.

Really, I just wanted to be somewhere where I could simply be

It wasn’t a rebellion, but a realization that, if I wanted to be happy, I needed to be in a more positive environment.  And since my parents’ house is not a prison, I simply left.

As much as I’d love to get a little apartment in the city (or my own place, period), I’m just not in the right place, financially.  Luckily, my Grandma kindly offered me her guest bedroom, so that’s where I’ve been staying. To be honest, I’m not sure how permanent the situation is (I feel a little like I’m in a limbo with no real home), as a lot of my stuff is still at my parents’ house, but I am so much happier, and even though I’ve only talked to my parents twice since leaving, I’m on much better terms with them.

For now, I’m definitely loving the change.  Aside from the mood boost, staying with Grandma definitely has perks.

Zeus

IMG_1762

Like lots of puppy time!  Technically they aren’t puppies anymore, but they still act like it and my missing socks are proof.  It’s awesome living with hem again – they were originally for my brothers and I and I paid for Liza (the goldendoodle) myself, but mom hates having pets, so Grandma adopted them.

IMG_1765

I don’t think she likes to be held.

I also get to spend more time with my Grandma.  She is such a wonderful woman and we’ve always been very close.  She takes care of my Grandpa by herself (he has both physical and mental disabilities from a car accident before I was born) and I’m so glad I can keep her company.

IMG_1629

And I’m sharing my juice!  My Grandpa has loved V8 for as long as I can remember, but now I can make it fresh for him (sans preservatives) and he likes it even more!

IMG_1742

Yep, lots of juicing is still going on.

jucing

Every once in a while, a completely different type of juice is enjoyed while writing papers.

IMG_1739

Does wine count as fruit?

One of the really awesome things is that I’m now within walking distance of many of my frequent haunts.  The gym, Walgreens, Smoothie King, Starbucks, the grocery store, a local market…all are 2 miles are closer, which means I’m hoofin’ it!

I run to the gym almost every day now, and it’s so much better than the dreadmill.  It ends up being a little over 3 miles there and back.  Just in time for Spring!

IMG_1772

I ran to Body Pump today at the ripe, dark hour of 5 a.m. [Side note: as soon as I told Sean, he made me promise not to run to the gym in the dark again.  Ah well, it was fun while it lasted.]

I got there on time, but the instructor did not.  There we all were, ready to Pump, but we didn’t have a leader!  We refused to give up, having dragged our butts there before the sun could even think about rising.  In the end, we used random music from someone’s iPod and we all sort of taught the class together.  A lot of people wanted me to just teach the class, but as I’m not yet certified in Body Pump, I just led a few songs.  It was a fun glimpse into what I hope will be my future of teaching there!

So, that’s that!  A lot has been happening, but it feels great.  As for the rest of today, I still have two Zumba classes to teach.  Since I’ve already done Body Pump and ran 5k, I’m going to take a few hours to relax, caffeinate, and get caught up on computer chores.

Have a Sunny funny afternoon! (I have no idea what that’s supposed to mean.  Oh well).

2 thoughts on “Out for Good?

Leave a Reply

