Low-Key Last Day


Another year us upon us already.  Already?! 

Is anyone doing anything crazy tonight? Sean and I were invited to a few parties, but we’ll probably be spending a low-key night at his house because he has to work in the morning.  Ah well.  I don’t think we could ever beat NYE 2010 in Munich, Germany.

Fondue party, a Champagne bottle the length of a baseball bat, fireworks, dancing till the early hours of the morning…

IMG_4029

Today is shaping up to be awesome in a much quieter way.  I’m in Illinois again, as my multi-day visits have turned into quite a habit. After joining Sean for oatmeal before he left for work this morning, I spend a glorious two hours at the nearby gym. It felt great to be able to spend as much time there as I wanted. On the agenda today was a 5 mile run, 10 minutes of incline treadmill lunges, and a challenging leg/triceps workout from Bodybuilding.com that involves 100 reps of different exercises. Ouch! Check it out here! 

Now I’m relaxing and watching the snow.

IMG_4022

I’m also snacking on a rice cake with peanut butter (probably my favorite snack ever) and finishing up reading The Paris Wife on my Kindle. It’s really good, but definitely not a happy, feel-good book.

When Sean, gets home, we’re going to see Les Miserables! And it’s about time, too.  It’s been out almost a whole week and I can’t believe I haven’t seen it yet. I’ve watched it onstage over a dozen times, own every soundtrack since the first London recording in 1985, and I know every.single.word. It’s already been decided that I’m going to cry the whole time. 

As fun as it would be to go to a party tonight, it’s going to be nice to do a little relaxing.  My life has been El Monstero all the way for the last few weeks.

Every night of the show I came home looking like this:

IMG_4018

That’s after brushing off the excess glitter.  It’s still in my hair today!

I tried taking some backstage pictures…

IMG_4010

But nothing beats the pros.

532001_10200162221796015_580570220_n

16814_10200162249836716_1750959852_n

1130_10200162308478182_1475725164_n

source: Paul Addotta

It was an unbelievable experience.  I met so many people (including the mayor of STL!) and it was good to see the band and the other cast and crew whom I haven’t seen since last year. Being out there onstage, making eye contact with people in the audience, letting the music tell me how to move – it gives me such an adrenaline rush! Besides, Pink Floyd is way more fun to dance to than The Nutcracker!

Now that my rock band days have ended for a while, I’m ready to set some goals for the New Year. I’m still in the brainstorming process, but these are the ones I’ve been thinking about for a long time.

1. Find a new job – one that will help me contribute to my future life as a Mrs.

2. Study for and pass a Personal Trainer Cert. through NASM.

3. Run 13 races in 2013.  I’m already signed up for my first 10k of the year in January!

4. Plan a beautiful wedding for Sean and I!

5. Blog more often.  I’m openly guilty of the fact that I don’t post nearly as much as I’d like.  With the start of the new year, I’m going to be posting 3 times per week. I’d like to be able to share my fitness, food, and personal life, and once a week posts don’t allow me to do that well.  Aaaaand, I’ll be introducing a new blogger!  Keep an eye out – her first post will be up tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Low-Key Last Day

  1. Wahoo! More posts! I.Can’t.Wait. 🙂

    By the way, I changed blogs for my TESOL plans. Now it is braziliansummer.wordpress.com. Not sure if you knew, but I will actually do my student teaching for high school English in Brazil! I am already here visiting relatives!

    I will try to post more as well. As they say here, “Até logo!” (Hasta luego!)

    • Hey, Kyle! It’s so nice to hear from you!

      I can’t wait to check out your blog. It sounds like you have some amazing things going on – how cool that you get to be back in Brazil!!

Leave a Reply

