The Highlights


I have 6 posts in progress right now, and that’s not even an exaggeration.  I’ve been feeling a bit scattered and de-centered lately, and I think my writing has been reflecting that…I just can’t seem to finish anything! Christmas is zooming ever closer and I’m full of wedding-planning, job searching (what’s new?), picking up as many hours at work as possible, and trying to keep up with responsibilities here and there.  It’s all been weighing on me a lot…that said, I don’t feel particularly blue or stressed – just focused.  As if I’m in the home stretch of something challenging, and if I just keep pushing forward, the work will pay off.

I just want to keep things simple today…

Now that we’re a couple of weeks into December, I’ve been thinking a lot about the past year as well as the one to come. Facebook has this thing where you can look at your personal highlights of the past year.  Of course, you really only see the pretty side of life on Facebook, but it was cool to look at, anyway.   2012 has definitely been a tough one for me, but when I think about it, so many amazing things have happened:

1. I began Jamie Eason’s Live Fit program in January, which taught me how to seriously weight train.  My workouts have since changed tremendously and I LOVE weights now.

2.  I moved out of my parents’ house.

3. I trained for only 3 weeks and ran my first half marathon in April.

4. In May, I graduated from Lindenwood University with a degree in English.

5. I fell in love with trail running in June and it changed me as a runner.

6. In June, I also joined with NF Endurance, a charity organization, to train for my first marathon.

7. In July, I went to Florida with Sean and his family, and returned with a ring on my finger!

8. In August, I started to feel like a real runner.

9. I turned 23 in September.

10. I ran my first marathon in October.

11. As of today, I have run almost 850 miles in 2012, compared to last year’s 105.7.  Cool!  I hope to break 1000 next year!

When I look at it all like that, how can I be disappointed with 2012? Too often, it’s easy to see what we don’t have. The smallest failures can makes the greatest triumphs.  At the end of each year, we’re always trying to improve, as if we’re just not good enough the way we are.  And as much as I dislike complacency and as much as I value “getting to the next level,” it’s equally important to sit back and say, “You know what? I’m doing a good job.  Life is pretty awesome.” 

Pick at your flaws all you want, set one hundred New Years Resolutions…but be sure to practice awareness and self-love, too.

Because if you don’t, how will you know how to celebrate when you succeed?

Leave a Reply

