The Quietest I’ll Ever Be.


Man, it’s been almost a whole week since getting sick and I’m still dealing with it.  Luckily, I feel completely fine – it’s just when I talk (or cough 5 trillion times every hour of the night) that you’d think I’ve become the embodiment of death.  I have no clue what’s going on, but it needs to stop.  I have work tomorrow, a baby shower on Sunday (yay, Rae!), and a bridal appointment on Monday…all things for which I’d really like use of my voice. On the other hand, I usually never shut up, so this might be a blessing to some. Ha.

{By the way, I know I haven’t said much about our forthcoming wedding, but keep an eye on the menu bar at the top of this page for a new addition pretty soon!}

Exercise this week has been incredibly disappointing. I’ve covered 13 miles: just a smidge compared to the usual 50-60.  Yuck.  Here’s what last week look like, starting from the day the plague hit:

  • Saturday: the most glorious half marathon
  • Sunday: 40 stuffed-up minutes on the elliptical
  • Monday: So much rest.
  • Tuesday: 3 miles + Zumba, goodbye voice
  • Wednesday: 3 miles and no voice
  • Thursday: 2 miles…yeah, no voice
  • Friday: 5 miles, 20 minutes elliptical, upper body weight training…did I mention no voice?

When I type it, I guess it doesn’t look all that bad.  I mean, at least I’ve done something most days.  But it’s definitely not my normal.  At least today was an improvement.

IMG_2680

Early morning run, as evidenced by my lack of makeup.  And who cares whether my outfit matches at 5 a.m.?

I keep getting nervous twinges when I think about how much I’m veering from my training schedule, especially since I’ve recently hit a new sweet spot with running.  Lately it’s just become a bit more comfortable, the pace a bit speedier, form a bit cleaner. But I’m trying to keep in mind that:

  • Rest is the best way of getting better
  • 1 week won’t affect my fitness
  • A training plan is just that: a plan.  Plan’s usually don’t turn out 100% perfect
  • At least I didn’t lose a limb.

Also, I’ve started track workouts, and I can’t wait to get back out there. 

IMG_2643

It feels strange to just run in circles when you’re used to rambling sidewalks, especially when circling the high school marching band.  But it’s good for speed and testing endurance progress.

IMG_2644

As for tonight, I’m staying in to enjoy this rainy weather…

IMG_2707

I seriously didn’t use any color editing on this!

With a delicious bowl of savory oatmeal…

IMG_2704

Trust me, it’s amazing.

And my attention-seeking diva dog…

IMG_2677

 

3 thoughts on “The Quietest I’ll Ever Be.

  1. Hi! I wanted to reply to your comment here just in case you didn’t see a reply on my blog. I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to find someone else who has gone through the same thing. Do you still dance at all?

    • Hi, thanks for visiting!! I completely agree- sometimes it seems as though no one can possibly understand what it’s like, huh? I’m not dancing right now, aside from doing barre on my own sometimes. I’m considering going back to my old studio, where they have really laid back ballet classes for alumni (free, too!) but I haven’t worked up the nerve yet. I feel like I’ll be disappointed with how much I’ve lost. How about you?

      • Well, I stopped going all the time in Feb 2011 after getting engaged. It wasn’t just being engaged that made me stop, but I’d been feeling pretty worn down for a while. My job was demanding, I was commuting, and I was getting annoyed at the same person getting every good part ALL the time. I mean, I know it’s often like that, but I was thinking COME ON! It was ridiculous. I took a 3 week break and then went back 2-3 times a week depending on the week while doing Insanity workouts. I started running in June and still tried to go 2-3 times a week, but sometimes it might have only been once. Then I moved this last January and didn’t go for 2 months. When I went back it was at another studio, and I didn’t go until I felt like I was ready to just dance again. Since March I’ve gone once a week except for July when I got married.

        I’d like to go more, but money and time (and energy) make it hard. I’ve toyed with dancing in Nutcracker again this year at my old studio (even though I moved it’s not that far for just a few months) but I don’t know. I still maintained most of my technique, just my extensions were off because the running created tightness in my quads and hips and I lost some turnout muscles. But this year I’m teaching dance production and I stretch with them every day and I’ve gotten a lot of it back. I think that if you want to go back, you should go, but only if you know that you’re doing it for YOU and because you love to dance. I also had to realize (and still need to work on this) that my body is strong and that strong is awesome.

        Ballet is always a part of us, and I think that we shouldn’t deny ourselves that joy.

Leave a Reply

