NF Endurance Update: The Scary Truth.


In case you missed the original post and update, I’m partnered with Children’s Tumor Foundation’s NF (Neurofibromatosis) program.  Neurofibromatosis is a disorder that causes various physical and learning disabilities, and is characterized by the growth of multiple tumors, sometimes in the brain or on the spinal cord. You can read a personal account of the disorder from one of my readers here.

If I raise $3,500 by October, NF Endurance will send me to Munich, Germany to race in the 2012 Munich Marathon.  Last time I gave an update, I was raising about $150 per week, thanks to my Smoothie King collection pig:

IMG_2471

Heheehe.

Now I’m just over a month into the fundraising efforts.  The marathon training is awesome, and I’m really pleased with my mileage.  But how much money have I raised? I’m currently just shy of $420.  Yeah, are you thinking what I’m thinking?

It’s not looking good.

And once you read some of these FAQ’s, you’ll see why I’m seriously worried.

1. How do you register for the race and book the flight?

I make the purchases myself.  Once I reach particular fundraising goals, NF Endurance reimburses me.  I have to raise $500 to cover the race, meaning that $450 goes to the foundation and $50 covers the race fee.  To cover the flight, I have to reach the $3,500 mark.

2. What happens if you don’t raise enough money?

Yikes.  I still have to raise the money I pledged.  So at the rate I’m going, I could owe NF Endurance.  $2,000.  I don’t have that.  I think I’m hyperventilating.

Now if your following along, you’ll have noticed that the timing of this situation is particularly tricky.

1. The race is open now and spots are going fast.  My Uncle already registered for the half marathon.  But since I haven’t reached $500, I haven’t registered yet.  Assuming I paid my race fee and didn’t reach $500 in fundraising, I’m now out $550.

2. Plane tickets to Europe need to be bought way in advance. I usually try to get them about 4 months ahead of time.  I have a little over 2 months to go.

Whether or not I reach $3,500, I know I won’t get there until very close to the race date.  That means, no matter what, I’m going to have to buy my tickets soon, and from the dusty depths of my own wallet. I am the ultimate pro at finding cheap plane tickets, but I can expect to fork out between $700-$1000 in airfare.

Okay, I really don’t have that much to spend, either.  But on the plus side, if I do raise $3,500, I’ll get all of that back.  Yay!

But here’s the big bombshell. Let’s say I don’t reach my goal.  Hypothetically, let’s say I get to $800.  Not only will I still be supplying plane tickets, but I’ll also owe NF Endurance $2,700. That’s a grand total of between $3,400 and $3,7000…that’s like a wedding dress.

Can I just go ahead and cry now?

My point in telling you all this is not to whine, but rather to illuminate the situation.  Fundraising organizations usually conjure images of smiling children and wishes made into reality.  And don’t get me wrong – I love the work I’m doing for the cause.  But it’s real work, and no matter how much effort I put into this, my ultimate success is in the hands of other people.

I really want this to work.  In fact, I need this to work.  Can you please help?

1. Stop in at Smoothie King Cottleville and stuff some bucks into the pig. When you donate, you’ll be entered to win a $20 SK gift card.

One more picture, cause the pigster is just so cute:

IMG_2472

2. Visit my NF Endurance website to make an online donation.

3. If you have any fundraising ideas or if your place of business might be willing to help, contact me through Facebook or email me at tkzeig@charter.net. I completely understand that not everyone can donate a million bucks, but I appreciate every ounce of help and support I can get!

Lastly, I’m in the process of organizing a pretty cool event. With the help of services from Unsanctioned Racing,  I’m going to set up a fun run/walk to benefit the cause.

Entry is free; donations are encouraged

– You’ll get a racing bib, and the top three finishers will get T-shirts.  If I gather enough participants, the winner will also get a free pair of running shoes.

– At the end of the race, I’ll be hosting a raffle.  Purchasing raffle tickets will earn you entries for cool prizes from Smoothie King, Panera Bread, Gold’s Gym, Starbucks, It’s a Better Burger, Beauty World, and more.

– There will be free refreshments, most likely from Smoothie King and Panera, at the end!

Right now, I’m still working on the date and location. The length of the run will probably be a 5k – just over 3 miles.  You can run or walk, and don’t worry if you’ve never raced before.  You don’t have to be a regular runner, and dogs and strollers will be allowed. 

If you are even slightly considering participating, please let me know ASAP by vising ThisGirlThrives on Facebook, where I’ve created a poll and will soon be adding an event for the race. It’s completely open to the public, so if you know any runners, spread the word! I can also provide flyers for local businesses and church bulletins.

Thank you for bearing with me on this novel of a post, and thank you in advance for all of your help!

Leave a Reply

