Crossfitish.


I’m leaving for vacation soon!  Panama City Beach, here we come!  But first, Sean and I will soon be heading for the midnight showing of Batman.  I really hope I stay awake.

At least I can sit down for a while…I’ve been upping my running mileage lately and my legs are a bit tired from my first 20-miler.  It actually went a lot better than I thought it would, and the end was easier + more fun than the beginning. The last three miles were speedy thanks to Katy Perry, Pink, and 95% numb legs.

Speaking of fitness…

I like to think I’m pretty up-to-date in the fitness world. I’ve long since drunk the kool-aid of Zumba, BodyPump, minimalist running (Mizuna Wave Elixir 8’s all the way!), and the likes.

But I still haven’t given in to Crossfit. It’s safe to say that it’s pretty much taken over the fitness world in the last year or two, and it’s easy to see why:

(source)

I read about Crossift a lot on a couple of blogs, and chat with a few of my Smoothie King regulars who own a local Crossfit box. In fact, they even invited me for a free class. That was months ago. So why haven’t I taken them up on the offer?

Because Crossfit is (or usually is) so darn expensive! I mean, membership at Gold’s already costs an arm and a leg, and there I can work out just about anytime I want and do just about anything I want. At Crossfit, it’s just Crossfit. Besides, I know that if I took that free pass, I’d get sucked in just like I do with every knew method of exercise I try. I just know I’d absolutely love it.

As much as I’d love to do both Crossfit and Gold’s, I’ll stick to the gym for now. I’m training for a marathon, after all, and that’s plenty to focus on. One thing I am doing, though, is adapting some of the Crossfit WOD’s for my workouts. Here’s what I did the other day:

Basic Circuit:

  1. 12 burpees
  2. 12 one-legged squats (on each leg)
  3. 12 Box Jumps
  4. 12 Pushup-to-side planks
  5. 12 walking lunges (on each leg)

I took that circuit and inserted it into a six-mile run:

  1. Run 2 miles
  2. Circuit
  3. Sprint 1 mile
  4. Circuit
  5. Sprint 1 mile
  6. Circuit
  7. Run 2 miles

My two mile runs were done at a steady 8:30 min/mile pace, although I picked up the speed near the end. I waited until I reached 1.75 then kicked it up to an 8:15 pace; at 1.80 ran at 8 min/mile, and at 1.9 I brought it to a 7:40 pace. My 1 mile sprints were done at just the 7:40 pace, and then sped up to 7 minute pace at the end.

This workout left me sufficiently drenched and the constant change kept me interested.  The thought patterns during running vs. circuit training are totally different.  When I run, I only subconsciously think about what I’m doing, while things like box jumps require me to be more in the moment.  I like both!

Afterward, I treated myself to my favorite post-run meal:

IMG_2342

Best falafel ever + unsweetened iced green tea.

I ordered a side of hummus and got this monster:

IMG_2343

With much difficulty, I managed to only eat three pieces of pita and saved the rest for later.

Incidentally, Sean and I enjoyed the same exact thing for lunch the next day.  I want Mario’s falafel every day.

I’m off to see Batman and then hop in the car to Florida! See ya on the flipside.

Leave a Reply

