Packed.


Woooooo! <- Before I get to that, look at the exciting night we had last night:

IMG_2354

Fire truck.

Around 12:30 at might, we were all woken by the fire alarm.  Needless to say, I freaked out.  I shoved my contacts in and went to check on my grandparents.  We looked around the house but couldn’t find a fire anywhere.  The alarm stopped, only to go off again at least 10 times after that.  Finally I convinced by grandma to call 911.

IMG_2355

This is supposed to be a picture of the firefighters, not the paper towel roll, but I was trying not to be obvious.

They couldn’t find anything wrong, but they blew air into the alarms in case they were dusty.  That seemed to do the trick, and we’re getting new alarms installed today.  Yay, we didn’t burn!

Oh, and I had breakfast on the balcony today:

IMG_2333

Anyway, WOOOOOOOO!

This morning I was going to post Part 2 of my Edwardsville trip.  But I’m just way too excited about leaving for Florida in a few days to think about anything else. We’re not leaving for Florida until Friday (and won’t arrive until Saturday), but I’ve already checked out of the real world.  I may or may not be blogging in a bikini.  Leave me alone, I had to try it on.

Only one day of work left! All I have to “worry” about tomorrow is getting a haircut, which is one of my favorite things ever. Aaaand, Sean and I are going to see Batman at midnight on Thursday/Friday. It’s going to be a good week. I haven’t even told you about our three year anniversary we celebrated this past weekend!

Did I mention, woooooooooo!?

Today I’m getting all of the final vacation stuff in order: pick up new contacts, get a protective screen placed on my Kindle, find a white sundress for our beach pictures, and finish packing.

Speaking of packing, I love it almost as much as the vacation itself. This is one of the few areas in which I am unlike my mother: just the thought of packing is enough to consume her with anxious stress. For me, the process is de-stressing. I make a ton of packing lists, get everything perfectly organized, write down outfit pairings…

IMG_2352

But I always always  over-pack. My navy blue polka dot dress? I have to bring it, even though I already packed 4 dresses. I mean, I might need it. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been over-prepared. At dance competitions, someone’s costume might rip, but that’s okay, because I have a needle with 8 different colors of thread, a glue gun, duct tape…and probably an extra costume, too. Did someone forget their black tights? That’s okay, because I brought 5 extra pairs. Need hairspray? Do you want Suave or Garnier? Medium hold, strong, or extra strong? Or would you prefer gel, instead?

This time, I really am doing my best to bring just what I need. My rule is that, if I don’t wear it on a regular basis, it doesn’t go in the suitcase.  It’ll mean lighter luggage and less stress during vacation because I won’t have 30 outfits to choose from every day. We’ll spend most of our time on the beach anyway.

I thought I was doing a really good job, but then I stopped and looked at what all I had packed.

We’ll be gone for 7 or 8 days. So why do I have 4 pairs of shorts, 3 skirts, 4 dresses, and a pair of jeans? And 13 shirts?

I think I need to try again.

On the plus side, having a Kindle Fire means that I won’t be lugging around a dozen books, like usual. For instance, last time I went to Germany I think I literally brought a dozen books and only read 2. I probably still bring one just in case my Kindle dies, though. I can’t choose between The Other Boleyn Girl or East of Eden. East of Eden is one of my all time favorite books, but neither of them are exactly light beach reads.

Here’s what I’ve got loaded onto my Kindle:

Some of them I’ve already started:

  1. All of the Sherlock Holme’s stories: I’ve already read three and I’m on a big Holme’s kick after recently watching the movies. I’m loving these stories; they’re short and entertaining, and hardly predictable. And Holme’s unabashed used of cocaine is a bonus. Or something.
  1. The Power of Habit, but Charles Duhigg: I’ve been reading this one for a while already. It’s fascinating.
  2. Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo: This is my 3rd rereading. It takes forever. But it’s also my favorite musical and I want to read it again before the movie comes out in December.
  3. The Hangman’s Daughter, by Oliver Poetzsch: Another one I started a while back. It got good reviews, but I’m just not wowed by the writing. I can’t decide whether to continue reading it.
  4. The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin: I’ve heard great things about this book. I started reading it a few months ago, but my library rental expired before I could finish it.
  5. Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling: I’m about halfway through this. Mindy Kaling is hilarious.

And some I’ll start from the beginning:

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde: Okay, so I’ve read this at least a dozen times. But it’s my favorite ever!
  2. The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman: This is another that I’ve previously read. Between the ages of about 13-19 I made it a point to read the series once a year.
  3. The Prague Cemetery, by Umberto Eco
  4. Bite Me, by Christopher Moore. I’ve read several of his other books. They’re nice and light and Moore is a nut job.
  5. Atonement, by Ian McEwan. I read this for a class when I was a sophomore in college. I absolutely adore both the book and the movie.
  6. Ape House, by Sara Gruen. She also wrote Water for Elephants, and I’m hoping this one is just as good.

And if that’s not enough to keep me busy, I’ve also got a David Sedaris audiobook and an audiobook of Bring Up the Bodies, which I hear is really good.

Something tells me I might not finish everything.

Ooops, gotta go to work.

Leave a Reply

