Small-town Staycation


Greetings from Edwardsville, Illinois! I’m hanging out here for the day (I feel like a foreigner!) while Sean works a double shift at the nursing home.  We’re considering moving here in the future, so I’m scoping out the town. I’ll report my findings soon!

Back to the scheduled programing.

Ahhhhh….that basically sums up how I feel right now.  There are still two weeks to go until vacation in Florida with Sean and his family, but I’m already checked out of the real world.  Really, I think I’m just burnt out on job-hunting and I’ve had way to much coffee for 10 in the morning.

AND I have 3 days off work!  I’m spending the time in Illinois with Sean, and tomorrow I’ll be heading to some other town (Where, you ask? Only the GPS knows) to teach some dance master classes at a studio there.

Sean’s hometown isn’t exactly a resort spot, but I just love visiting.  Anything to get away from my humdrum daily routine! We spent most of yesterday visiting with friends and family, and relaxing with books and movies.  I like downtime, but I can only handle a little bit before I turn into an antsy 6 year old who can’t sit still. My attitude quickly progresses from “This isn’t so bad – it’s nice to just lie here,” to “I’m going to DIE, I haven’t moved in FOREVER.  Sean, it’s a danger to our LIVES to be immobile.  We have to do something about this horrible situation NOW.” I start fidgeting and constantly shifting positions.  At one point, I was hanging upside down off the bed in an attempt to not be bored.

Sean, on the other hand, can somehow take a nap, watch some TV, and then take another, longer, nap.  I don’t get it. Is this normal? After 3 years, Sean has grown to know me very well, and he can sense when too much energy is building up in me.  Then he announces that it’s gym-time.  Oh, sweet, glorious gym-time.

After laying in bed for 2 1/2 hours basically watching my muscles atrophy, I had a huge spurt of energy at the gym.  I pounded out 6 miles on the treadmill, which felt amazing.  After falling in love with trail running over the past few months, I’m now having an affair with the treadmill.  I blame it on the heat.  The temp is reaching higher than 107 F lately, so there’s no chance of running during the day. My original plan during this heat wave was to get up and run super early in the morning, but my Achilles tendons are way too stiff then and it always feels like their going to snap.  So for the past 4 days, I’ve logged a total of 26 miles on the treadmill!  Thank goodness for good music. Gosh, I love running, even though this is so me:

In fact, this was pretty much the only time I liked gym:

And they stopped letting us do that in like 4th grade.  This is not fair.

Any way, while Sean was doing his own thing, I ran the 6 miles and then tried a bicep/triceps workout from bodybuilding.com, aka my favorite website ever.  Oh, the burning.   Here’s the workout, and you can find pictures of each exercise here.  I included the weights I used in parentheses, but you should always pick a weight that’s challenging but will allow you to complete every rep in good form.

Bam. Arm muscle!

IMG_2268

Arms by the Book Workout

  • Barbell Curls (30 lb. barbell)
    • 3 sets of 8-12 reps with 90-second rest periods; 4th set is 21’s

Superset

  • Standing Biceps Cable Curls (35 lb)
    • 3 sets of 12-15 reps
  • Pullups
    • 3 sets to failure with 90-second rest periods

(end superset)

  • Skullcrushers (40 lbs for the first two set, 30 for the last two)
    • 4 sets of 15 reps with 90-second rest periods
  • Cable Triceps Pushdowns (40 lb)
    • 2 sets of 10-12 reps with 90-second rest periods.

Superset

  • Dumbbell Alternating Biceps Curls (15 lb dumbbells)
    • 1 set of 20 reps
  • Triceps dips
    • 1 set to failure

Since I really love building my triceps, I finished the workout with a drop-set of triceps pushdowns with the cable. (Start at your heaviest weight, do as many reps as possible, then drop to the next lightest weight, do as many reps as possible, and so on until you reach the lightest weight). Ouch!

*21’s: 7 bottom-half reps, 7 top- half reps, and 7 full-range reps.

After we worked out, we showered and got snow cones:

IMG_2292

I got light flavors of banana, root beer, and a little bit of lime because it sounded so refreshing. Sean made fun of my combination, and I told him to leave me alone.  And then we watched a movie until I fell asleep about half way through. 

Sounds like a good night to me!

Leave a Reply

