Treats


Do you ever have those days when, even though lunchtime is still a few hours away, you’re ready for it now?

I’m dreaming of a big salad like the one I had yesterday:

IMG_2194

Or, better yet, the dinner I enjoyed with Sean last week at Ranoush:

IMG_2176

Pita and hummus

IMG_2177

Meze platter for two: falafel, more hummus (no such thing as too much!), stuffed grape leaves, baba ganoush, kibbeh, tabbouleh, fatayer, and warak inab.

Sean ate the two non-veg dishes, and I loved the baba ganoush – so deliciously doughy!  And the falafel was divine. I’m in the middle of a falafel love affair right now. We had enough leftovers to get us through lunch and part of dinner the next day.

For drinks (round 1) we enjoyed “The Elixir of Life.” It had Malibu coconut rum, but I can’t remember what else it had in it. After that glorious dinner, we also visited a cool rooftop bar:

IMG_2181

IMG_2178

The pictures, of course, don’t really give a proper impression of the experience, thank you Mr. iPhone, but you could see all of downtown St. Louis stretched out in the distance, including the arch. So romantic!

Sadly, this afternoon doesn’t involve falafel, Sean, or Elixirs of Life.  Luckily for the dogs, though, today does involves homemade doggie treats. Flower, bunnies, chickies (yeah, I could only find Easter cookie cutters), and I even cut out some L’s and Z’s for Zeus and Liza!

IMG_2226

2 c. whole wheat flour

1 T baking powder

1 c. peanut butter

1 c. milk

Baked at 375 for about 10-15 minutes.

The dogs sat and watched me make them the whole time.  That’s what I get for letting them sample the dough.

IMG_2222

IMG_2223IMG_2225

Okay, I’m going to (grudgingly, laboriously) press on with my job search until lunchtime rolls around.  I’ll be back later with a fundraising post!

 

Leave a Reply

