Raising Funds for 13.1


Happy Sunday!  I’m on Spring Break!

I feel like I should probably be jetting of to a tropical beach, but I’m pretty sure that’s not happening. I’ll be spending a lot of time writing papers and doing homework during break.

And eating chocolate oatmeal in bed while watching 30 Rock.

IMG_1841

 

Live Fit Trainer Update

When I last updated on Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer, I had just completed Phase One.  You can read the full post here, but basically, I was feeling strong and really enjoying the workouts.

Now, I’ve finished Phase Two, but to be honest, I haven’t been keeping up 100%  with Phase Three.  I never planned to take a break, but my fitness life has changed a lot in the past month.  When I started the program, I wasn’t teaching any Zumba, and now I’m teaching 6 classes a week.  On top of that, I’m training for the GO! St. Louis Marathon (in only 3 weeks!  Yikes!).  So although I’m still strength training five days a week, I’m not able to devote all of my fitness energy to Live Fit.And really, that suits me just fine: I like to be well-rounded in my workouts.  Here’s my current fitness schedule:

Monday: Zumba

Tuesday: Body Pump (a.m.) and Zumba (p.m.)

Wednesday: Tempo Run (a.m.) and Yoga or misc. gym time (p.m.)

Thursday: Body Pump (a.m.) and two Zumba classes (p.m.)

Friday: Easy run (afternoon) and weight training (p.m.)

Saturday: Zumba (a.m.) and weight training (a.m.)

Sunday: Long run and Yoga

Live Fit requires about an hour of training for 5-6 days per week, and I clearly don’t have much time for that.  That said, I still do Jamie’s workouts whenever I strength train on my own – usually two or three times per week.

Like I said, I’m fine with the change of plans.  After all, I’m still challenging my body and treating it well! As for Phase Two, I didn’t see much physical change (I didn’t expect to, anyway), but I have gotten so much stronger.  I’ve never been able to lift so much!

IMG_1576

(iPhone + unwilling brother-as-photographer = really bad photo)

Onto New Challenges…

As I mentioned earlier in this post, I’m running in the GO! St. Louis half marathon next month.  Ever since I got my first taste of racing last year, I new I wanted to run a half and eventually a full marathon. (I’ll probably be okay if I never complete an Ironman)

image

The GO! St. Louis Halloween 10k was my very first race, and I thought it would be perfect to make GO! STL my first half marathon, too. It’s going to be a huge event (there will also be a 5k, a half marathon relay, a full marathon, and a 2 day health expo) and I would LOVE to be a part of it.

It looks like so much fun!!!!

 

But I need your help.

The entry fee is $90…which is $90 over my budget.  I’ve created a fundraising page here: http://www.crowdrise.com/tayasfirsthalfmarathon, which you can also access through my personal Facebook page as well as the ThisGirlThrives Facebook page.  There, you can donate any amount of money to the cause.  Even a few dollars would be very much appreciated! Plus, while I’m pounding down 13.1 miles of pavement, knowing that I’m being supported by all of you will keep me going strong!

Or….if anyone is interested in racing with me, I would LOVE to have a buddy!

To all who are willing to contribute, thank you SO MUCH in advance, and I hope everyone has a good Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Raising Funds for 13.1

  1. hi taya, just wanted to give you a heads up that you won my sokenbicha giveaway and todays the last day to send me your mailing address to collect your winnings. my best, elise

  2. Pingback: NF Endurance for the Munich Marathon « thisgirlthrives

Leave a Reply

