All Juiced Up


 

Can you believe it’s already March?  Usually I get uncomfortable when time flies like this, but not this time!  I have so much to look forward to…graduation in May, vacation in Florida…I’m already fantasizing about beach outfits!

image

(Anthropologie)

Back to reality…

So that sleep thing I talked about in my last post?  You know, the brilliant idea that I should actually do all of my Shakespeare reading ahead of time?  Yeah, that completely backfired again, and I ended up getting about 3 1/2 hours of sleep.  Darn that King Henry and Falstaff.  But that’s okay, I feel like I really read it thoroughly (sometimes I feel like I spend more time trying to stay awake than actually reading) and I nailed the quiz we had on it this morning.

I think the only thing that motivated me to get out of bed at 4:30 was the thought of some amazing juice, courtesy of Mr. Lalanne. 

IMG_1712

Again, not the best shot, but the only thing I have time for so early in the morning! You can kind of see the juice, right? You can definitely see my ginormous bag this time.

I made a to-die-for fruit juice last night that I simply had to recreate this morning for my pre-workout snack:

 4-7 strawberries

2 handfuls of spinach

1 kiwi

And here’s the really hard part:  put them in the juicer and watch the juice come out.  Seriously, this thing is so easy to use, and it’s relatively quiet, too!  Much quieter than the food processor, at any rate.  And if you couldn’t tell, I LOVE my juicer!  I’m like a little kid – I want to juice every food I get my hands on!  I bought some oranges, grapefruits, and mangoes, too. I can’t wait to experiment.  At some point, I’m going to have to make myself eat solid food.

Although I plan to juice vegetables much more often than fruits, I’ll definitely be making this strawberry-kiwi-spinach juice a lot.  Fresh fruit juice tastes SO much better than the bottled junk with the preservatives and added sugars and acids. I also used it as an experiment:  I always make sure I eat a little something before Body Pump (even though it’s around 5 a.m.) or else I end up uncomfortably hungry during class.  I know a lot of people don’t have an appetite in the mornings, but I sure do!  I wasn’t sure how the juice would tide me over, but I wasn’t hungry at all and I had plenty of energy to lift heavy!  Heavier, too – I finally increased my bicep weight this week.  Squats, chest, triceps, lunges …I’ve improved steadily in those areas, but the biceps took longer to catch up.

After Pump and Shakespeare (and a 15 minute nap!) I worked on homework at Panera:

IMG_1714

Thai Chopped Chicken Salad (minus the chicken, wonton strips, and dressing, plus extra lettuce), courtesy of my wonderful boss at Smoothie King!  And yes, I put mustard on my salad sometimes. Weirdo.

It was actually warmer outside than inside, so after working on the laptop for a few hours, I sat outside with coffee while I talked to my Grandma on the phone.  I love her so much!

And now I have a little less than an hour to check off the rest of my to-do list before I teach 2(!) Zumba classes.  Oh, that reminds me: if any non-Lindenwood students (although LU students are more than welcome, too!) are interested in taking Zumba, I’m now teaching on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7 pm at St. Louis Self Defense.  I would love to see you there!

On this bright and sunny Thursday, I’ll leave you with one little treat…a little more lighthearted than my last post.  This is what happens when we have too much fun at Smoothie King:

IMG_1683

BLOOOOOOD.

IMG_1680

Or maybe just blueberry juice??  You’ll never know…hahahaa.

Leave a Reply

