Gratefulness.


Good afternoon, everyone! Boy, am I beat.  It’s only 3:30 and I’ve already been to my early morning Body Pump, the school café for coffee/studying, 8 a.m. Shakespeare, and a shift at Smoothie King…all on 3 hours of sleep.  In hindsight, I would have gotten a lot more sleep if I hadn’t procrastinated with my Henry IV reading. This is pretty normal for me, as I tend to front-load my mornings and walk out of the house looking like this:

IMG_1673

Obligatory bathroom self-photo.  It doesn’t look so bad from this angle, but I’ve got my breakfast and lunch, running and Zumba clothes, work clothes, laptop, schoolbooks, and a half liter of tea. That’s not to mention my essentials: vitamins, both fruity and minty gum, backup pens, backup backup pens, and at least 6 shades of lipstick/lipgloss. I like to be prepared.

Although I usually pop out of bed with no problem, by the time I get home on Tuesdays (and Wednesdays and Thursdays…) I’m a zombie.  Both my brain and body are too tired to do anything until I catch my second wind a few hours later. 

BUT.  Today is a special day.  Ladies and gentleman, I present to you…

IMG_1704

My first juicer- a classic Jack Lalanne!  Wooooo!  I’ve been thinking about it all day, and as soon as I got home from work, I had my first glass:

IMG_1706

Honestly, I have no idea what the exact recipe is. I used mostly carrots, plus cucumbers, spinach, and grape tomatoes, but I was so excited that I just stuffed it all in there.  No measurements, no proportions – lot’s of excitement.  I was a little worried about how it would taste, since I didn’t use anything (stevia, fruit juice) as a sweetener, but I LOVED it.  So refreshing!

The Jack Lalanne Power Juicer gets consistently good reviews, but it’s often criticized for creating too much pulp.  Pulp smulp – I ate the pulp, too!

IMG_1707

With a little nutritional yeast and salt,  it was delicious.

I’m so excited to start juicing regularly.  Maybe I’ll even be able to staunch my coffee habit a little bit by drinking liquid greens instead!  Much healthier.

This brings me to a more serious subject.

Within the last few days, some tragic things have happened to some wonderful people in my life.  Without giving away all personal details, I have to say that I’m completely shocked.  The first was the death of the son of my ballet teacher. He was close to my age, which made his unexpected passing that much more jarring.

And Body Pump was absolutely heart wrenching this morning when my wonderful, inspiring instructor (really- the things I could say about her would send this post into novella territory), who always greets me with a smile even at 5 a.m. taught her last class this morning as she begins a cancer health hiatus.  She’ll be back.  Soon.  I know it. That woman has so much strength and such a kind heart.  But, gosh.  I had seriously restrain myself from crying into my Uberbar after class as I drove to school.

There was so much power and love in Body Pump this morning. That class is really like a close-knit team, and we all love our instructor.  Every time we lifted those bars, we did it to support Teresa in her brave battle. 

These sad events are really making me step back and contemplate the fragility of life.  Day in and day out, I devote hours to pushing my body to run raster, lift heavier, dance harder.  I think it’s useful to employ the “I can do anything” attitude when it comes to workout motivation, but it’s simply not true. 

As an avid exerciser, soreness is a constant companion, and the possibility of little injuries is just a normal part of life. (Ironic, no?) But the greater evils of illness sometimes aren’t under our control.  Diseases too often prey upon the innocent.  From now on, I want to thank my body every time the sweat pools on the step mill of every time I hoist a heavy bar onto my shoulders.  When I finish a long run, I’ll proud that I can run.  I realize now that thankfulness is an important benefit of exercise – because you never know when your own health can become your enemy.

Until you return, I’ll be body-pumping along, Teresa, and I can’t wait to show you how strong I’m going to be. Someday, I hope to be as strong as you are, both in body and spirit.

Red heart

One thought on “Gratefulness.

  1. I nearly jumped out of my chair in excitement when I saw your juicer… no joke!! That’s sooo exciting! I’m sorry for the sad parts of your week, though, dear one.

Leave a Reply

