Juicer Wanted


I don’t know about you, but I am loving this weather.  If the next 6 weeks of winter are going to be anything like today, bring it on.  This is way better than when it was freezing last week and our furnace broke.

I sat so closely by the first, I’m surprised I didn’t get singed.

IMG_1563

In honor of this pseudo-Spring, I basked in the sun with a simple fruit salad today.

IMG_1585

1/2 grapefruit, 1/2 orange, 1 kiwi

Yes, I’m one of those weird people who’s totally okay with eating the kiwi skin.  It’s not delicious or anything, but it doesn’t bother me, and I’m too lazy to take it off.

I’m really hoping to squeeze in a run this afternoon, but it’ll have to wait since I’m stuck at Auto Tire while they put two new wheels on my car.  The guy spent about 5 minutes describing different wheels to me.  This one is near-racing quality, that one is specialized for smooth turns…seriously, guy?  As long at they’re not square or anything, I’m fine with whatever.  Goodness.

Today is definitely a to-do-list-crushing day.  It looks like this:

1. Up at 4 a.m. Somehow make it to the gym at 4:20.  We won’t discuss how tired I looked.

2. Bike while finishing Hamlet: 4:30-5:15

3. Body Pump: 5:30-6:30

4. Starbucks to really finish Hamlet: 6:40-7:20

5. School: 8:00-9:15 (But it really felt about 4 hours long)

6. Back home: 9:30

7. Do 5 million random things: 9:30-1:50 (make protein bars, tomorrow’s green smoothie, lunch, wash dishes, do laundry, respond to e-mails, repaint nails, clean out car, de-clutter purse storage area)

8. Tires: 2:00-?? (It’s now been over an hour)

9.  Back home for another 5 million things: ??-6:40

10.  Go see A Midsummer Night’s Dream at school: 7:30 – ??

11. Gym for Jamie Eason workout: ??-10:30ish

Hopefully I won’t run out of energy, since I’m armed with all the protein bars I made today:

IMG_1581

Jamie Eason’s Cinnamon Swirl Bread

These are SO GOOD.  Blissful.  They’re healthy, simple, and packed with protein, but you’d never guess it.  My Grandma stopped by the house today and took a bite of mine.  She didn’t have anything bad to say about them – a rarity – so they must be pretty good!

I also made a batch of Mama Pea’s Zee Bars.

IMG_1583

I love these and often use them for my pre-workout snacks. In other words, the promise of a Zee Bar is what gets me out of bed at 4 a.m.  I ate the last one this morning so I had to make a new batch today.  This time, I tweaked the recipe by subbing out the chocolate chips for raisins and dried cranberries, adding cherry extract, and sprinkling almonds on top. 

Last but not least, I made protein peanut butter cups.

IMG_1586

Not pretty, but good! The recipe, which I found on Fitting It All In, is Jamie Eason approved.  Clare didn’t like them, but I think it’s all about how good your protein powder is.  I really don’t like the chalkiness of the Rice Protein:

image

The vanilla is somewhat tolerable, if mixed so well that you can hardly taste it.  The berry flavor is downright revolting.

But this stuff…

image

THIS stuff is the bomb, so to speak. It’s so good that I crave it, and it makes everything – smoothies, oatmeal, cereal, rice cakes, peanut butter, almond milk – infinitely better.  Even when mixed with water, it tastes like cake batter.  On top of all that, it has stellar nutritional stats and extra goodies that most protein powders don’t have, like heart-healthy chia seeds.

image

Sadly, I’m all out, so I’ll change the subject before I go into withdrawals.  Here’s something else that I’m coveting – even dreaming about – right now.

IMG_1542

Vegetable Juice!

I had this carrot-apple-ginger-spinach blend at a juice bar recently and have been craving it ever since. My family is sick of me waxing poetic about getting a juicer.  I can’t afford to buy one, although I’ve been trying to convince mom that it’s worth the money.

image

This is the one I really want – not only does it extract all the juice from fruits and veggies, but it juices wheat grass (all the rage at Smoothie King right now) and processes nut butters, too.  The last part is extra handy since I make my own butters and hope to start selling them soon! Buuuuuuut, it costs between $150-200.  Confused smile

Speaking of juicing, I highly recommend the movie Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.  It’s a very high quality and entertaining documentary about the Standard American Diet and how juicing can pretty much save your life.  Definitely watch it, even if you don’t think juicing is your thing. Oh, and this doesn’t count as juice:

IMG_1550

How can this be 100% apple juice is it also has “other natural flavors and ingredients” ?

IMG_1551

So here’s my desperate plea: does anyone – ANYONE – own a juicer they’d be willing to donate?  I don’t even care what kind it is, as long as it works.  And even though I’m on the poor boat right now, I’d be willing to pay whatever I can. (Geez, you’d think I was drug-seeking) I figure a juicer is one of those things everyone bought about 10 years ago and then never took out of the box.  Anyone??

For now, I’ll continue to dream…

Leave a Reply

