My Live Fit Journey (So Far)


For the past 27 days, I’ve been participating in Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer from Bodybuilding.com.  After a year of keeping a relatively unchanged gym schedule, I figured it would be fun to try something new. I also figured I could trust that Jamie Eason’s program wouldn’t lead me astray.  She’s one of the most successful fitness models out there and, seriously, have you SEEN her?

image

(Source)

Yeah.  So her Live Fit Trainer is a 12 week program, and includes free access to meal plans and daily workouts.  It’s definitely geared towards people who need to completely transform their bodies, but my goal is just to get stronger and build a little more muscle. On top of that, I can’t wait to see how much strength I’ve gained throughout the next 10 weeks. I’ve seen great results from people who’ve tried it, and Clare from Fitting it All In is doing the challenge, too.  She started about a week after I did and I love reading about her progress!

The program does have 2 challenges for me:

1. The meal plan. I really like the options Jamie provides – it’s all about clean eating and whole foods – but I’m having to make a lot of vegan adaptations.  She relies heavily on egg whites and turkey, so I just have to get a little creative.  On the other hand, I’ve started to really up my protein intake, and I’ve developed an ah-maz-ing protein shake which has been powering me through some of the tough workouts.  I’ll post the recipe tomorrow!

2. No cardio in Phase One. Here’s what Jamie says about the first of three phases:

You’re going to start with weight training, which is like the fountain of youth, an anti-gravity miracle that helps tighten and tone your body from head to toe. When you add more lean muscle to your frame, your metabolism increases even more. That means you’ll burn more body fat, even while at rest.

What you won’t be doing, believe it or not, is cardiovascular exercise. That’s right — NO CARDIO! Free pass. This’ll ensure your body is adding the muscle you want, and not using up too many calories for immediate fuel rather than muscle building.

  The idea of not doing cardio for 4 weeks almost made me reject the whole program.  I’m a cardio queen!  Everyday, you’ll find me pounding 10 miles of pavement, climbing steps for an hour, or loading up on step and Zumba classes.  But this program is giving me a wake-up call: even though I’m working out like crazy, I look just like I did 6 months ago.  Of course I’m not really looking to lose weight, but my muscle tone is at a standstill.  The idea of getting rid of cardio (aside from teaching Zumba) still really scares me, but I’m giving it a try. [Admittedly, I didn’t give up the cardio right away, but a week into the program I decided that, if I’m going to do it, I’m doing it all the way.  Now I’m making sure I do no more than 30 minutes of cardio per day, if I do any at all]

I can’t believe four weeks have already passed.  I just started Phase Two today, which means the resistance training is getting harder (today I’ll be attempting pull-ups for the first time since Freshman year of high school!) and I can introduce 30 minutes of cardio into my workout! And just in time, too – my legs have been itching for a good run.

It’s time for me to get ready for my whirlwind of a day: bank – grocery store – school – work – gym (just to walk and read) – home – gym (first work

I’ll be back bright and early tomorrow for a recap of Phase One, and a new recipe! 

Leave a Reply

