I Will…


In the past, I’ve always shirked the whole New Years Resolution trend.  They tend to set one up for failure, since there’s a tendency to set extreme goals that just aren’t practical in the long term. This year, I have a ton of them. Sort of.  But instead of calling them “resolutions” (it’s a wishy-washy word, no?), and starting right at the beginning of the year, I’ll rebel a bit by starting now…19 days late. And why not call them goals or tasks?

My 2012 Tasks:

1. Work on my posture: I spend a lot of time hunched over books, papers, and my computer, and it’s been giving me a lot of upper back/shoulder pain.  We’re talking 24/7 intense tension.  Sometimes I just want someone to stab a knife into it just to relieve all the pressure, and I’m so over it.  I’m really hoping that sitting up straighter and reminding myself to relax my shoulders will help.  Besides, good posture exudes confidence, improves your breathing, and prevents the dreaded Quasimodo hump when you’re 85.

image

Sexy, huh?

2. I will move forward in my “adulthood.” In other words, 2012 is the year of my career.  After I graduate in the spring, I want to move out of my parents’ house, begin grad school, and figure out what the heck I’m doing with my life.

2a. Expand my fitness career. More Zumba classes.  Personal Trainer and 200 hr. Yoga licenses. You get the idea.  Right now, my dream would be personal trainer on The Biggest Loser. Move over, Dolvett!

3. Six pack. I’m so close.  Don’t hate me – I’m grateful for how far I’ve come and I love my body.  I’m just ready to reach the next level of ripped-ness!

4. Drink more water. I really have a hard time with this. I’ll do great for a few days, always keeping my water bottle beside me, and then I’ll just forget about it again.  Did you know that dehydration can inhibit fat burning?

image

(source)

5. Continue to learn about veganism, vegan cooking, and living in a predominantly non-vegan world. When I first became vegan (or even just vegetarian), I felt great about the change, but it also caused me a lot of stress. I felt alienated from other people, and going out to restaurants made me feel panicky.  Last Spring, I went on a school dance trip with 20-ish other dancers, which meant that everyone had to agree on where we went out to eat.  I’m still embarrassed by how upset I got when we visited pizza places and unhealthy chain restaurants.  Over time, however, I’ve really relaxed.  If the only vegan food a restaurant can muster up is an iceberg salad, then so be it. Joyful veganism all the way!

6. Finally, I want to continue to improve my relationship with Sean.  One of Sean’s resolutions is to be a better boyfriend, so I figure I should work on my part, too!  We have an amazing relationship already, but we want to grow closer, learn more about give-and-take, and work out our schedules so we can see each other more often.

image

Did you make any resolutions or goals?  Now that we’re almost a month into the new year, have you kept up with them?

Leave a Reply

