Just Can’t Get Enough


Before a gym class the other day, some of my classmates and I were discussing post-workout rituals. Some responses were pretty normal:

“I drink a bottle of water and a protein shake.”

“I shower at the gym and let my hair dry on the way home.”

“I go home and make a bee-line for the fridge!”

Some were a bit complicated:

“I foam roll for 10 minutes, meditate, then I wipe off with a damp cloth and double-reapply deodorant.”

And mine is just plain strange:

“I roast vegetables.”

Sweet potatoes, butternut squash,zucchini, carrots, yellow squash, mushrooms, and green peppers, to be exact.

bakeveggies

fallveg

And sometimes tofu and squash seeds (did you know you can roast them just like pumpkin seeds?)

IMG_1325

Actually, I don’t do this after every workout – just after 5 a.m. Body Pump.  5 minutes of chopping, salting, and lightly drizzling with truffle oil leads to amazing lunches…when I add…

IMG_1380

Kale!! And so the parade of salad ensues.

greengreens

Kale massaged with guacamole and tops with green peppers…

IMG_1447

With squash and mushrooms…

IMG_1402

With squash seeds and seaweed(s) …

IMG_1139

With rice, tomatoes, and avocado…

IMG_1385

With carrots and hummus…

Picnik collage

In really big containers…

 

Give me kale, and I’m a happy girl.

Mom, that may or may not be a hint for the next time you’re grocery shopping.Winking smile

Leave a Reply

