I’m Officially…


 

…Addicted to kale.

In fact, I’m craving it more than coffee these days, and that’s really saying something.  I even brought a bag of raw kale to school last week and munched on it as I walked across campus!

When I shared this with mom, she said, “Don’t people think you’re weird?”

“I hope so,” I replied.

I think it’s weird to see people eating trans-fatty, fried, carcinogenic “foods” (McDonald’s, anyone?), so if that’s considered normal, then I want to be the weirdest person ever.

…3 days away from my first 10k race!

After moaning and whining – and failing – to convince mom to run a race with me a few weeks ago, I decided to take initiative and do it on my own.  After all, I’d been training for the race I didn’t end up running, so why let all the hard work go to waste?

Speaking of training, boy has it been full of lessons.  So many people cringe at the thought of long distance running or racing – and yes it’s hard – but it’s so worth it.  Not only do you gain physical strength (think of all the good you’re doing for your heart!!) but you get mentally and emotionally stronger, too.  I learn so much about myself when I’m pushing through my 5th mile, and the feeling you get when you finish your run well exceeds mid-run struggle.

image

I’m really excited and nervous about the Go! St. Louis 10k.  I’m a newbie in this field and I know each race will feel more and more comfortable.  I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t beat my PR or if it doesn’t go 100% smoothly.  I just want to finish and have fun! In fact, my least favorite part of the run is that it takes place at 8 a.m. and it’ll be cold outside.  I hate when my face is cold!

…The new Lindenwood Zumba teacher!

image

I’ve been wanting to blog about this exciting news for a long time now, but didn’t want to say anything online until the details were concrete. It’s been quite a process: LU originally wanted to move me on campus and extend my financial aid as “payment” for teaching.  When I found out, however, that I’d be moving into a potentially junky house with three other girls, I wasn’t so excited. Don’t get me wrong, it might have been fun, but I’m afraid we wouldn’t all mesh.  I get up between 4:30-5:30 in the morning, eat vegan, don’t smoke or party, and I’m just used to doing my own thing.  Luckily, Lindenwood worked things out so I can get increased financial aid, plus a meal plan (read: free coffee every day!) while still being able to live at home.

Now that all the business stuff is over with, I’m just excited to teach! My Zumba instructor at Gold’s is so inspiring – I hope I make my students feel amazing, too! Plus, how cool is it that I get to teach at a university while I’m still a student?

So, for all of you LU students, here’s my Zumba schedule (classes will be held in the new Evans Commons building):

  • Tuesdays: 3-4 pm
  • Fridays: 4-5 pm
  • Saturdays: 11-12 pm

Please check it out!  Zumba is a great workout, but it’s also a crazy blast. So you don’t think you can dance?  That’s okay! No body is there to judge you.  It’s all about major calorie burn while having a majorly good time.

…Ridiculously blind.

On Saturday morning, tragedy struck when I noticed a little speck on my right contact. It had been bothering me the day before, so before I put my contacts in, I tried to gently brush off the speck of stuff (protein buildup?). Aaaand, it promptly ripped in half.  It was my very last pair, and the optometrist’s office was closed all weekend! I could have been dramatic and just laid down on the floor and called it a day. Luckily, though, I remembered that I had an ancient pair of glasses to tide me over until I could get new contacts.

NOT GOOD. Turns out, my eyesight has severely worsened since I got those glasses several years ago.  I had zero peripheral vision, everything looked tiny, and the blurriness caused me to feel perpetually dizzy.  By the end of Saturday, I had a horrible headache.  I’m just thankful that Sean spent the day with me yesterday, driving me around and taking me to the eye doctor.  I really just wanted to get a single pair to keep costs minimal (and then save money by ordering them off 1-800 contacts) but they receptionist revealed that I hadn’t had my eyes checked since 2009 (!) and therefore would have to have an examination.  Ooops.  I’m not a procrastinator, or anything. 

30 minutes later, my prescription was bumped up to a –9 in both eyes (my doctor said my vision was “hellish” and the receptionist looked at the Rx and said, “oh you poor thing!”) I was handed a hefty bill.  My sweet boyfriend, however, refused to let me pay and whipped out his debit card. I truly tied to talk him out of it, but he persisted and won.  I mean, how amazing is that guy?

By the way, running 8 miles in blazing sunlight with my old glasses is…challenging:

IMG_1317

[Pardon my sweaty grossness]

…A certified group fitness instructor!

My friends, I have been anxiously awaiting this news for weeeeeeks, and when I got a very official-looking envelope from AFFA in the mail the other day, I almost didn’t want to open it! My whole family was in the room, too.  And then I saw the word “certified” through the envelope, and I knew it would be okay. Turns out I got a 93% on the test…and to think I spent the last few weeks thinking I had either failed or just barely scraped a low passing grade.

The official certificate, aka permission to have a dream job!

IMG_1330

Aaand, I got a car window sticker.  I think the sticker made me almost as excited as the actual test result did!

Now it’s time to scout for teaching jobs!

Well, I’m going to pay attention for the last 10 minutes of Physics (What? It’s boring, and the tests are open-book! I much prefer literature classes). I’ll leave you with this tantalizing picture of the surprisingly healthy pancakes I made the other day.  They were so good that I had them two days in a row!  Recipe to come soon.

IMG_1300

Leave a Reply

