Sunday…Seven?


 

Ahh, the weekend.  I finally have a moment to catch my breath before another crazy week! My weekend has been full of laundry, homework, Smoothie King, and…doing nothing at home.  I could use more of that last one! Yep, I’m 22 and relish the thought of quiet weekends and not going out.  If that means I’m old at heart, that’s okay with me!

The campus has been looking fantastically fall-ish the week.

fallfoliage

 IMG_1212

In honor of October, I’ve been hitting up lots of sweet potato and butternut squash this week. Seriously, have you tried butternut squash? I think it’s best if I eat it alone because I can’t stopping saying things like, “Ohh my gosh, this is SO good.  WOW. I love this. It’s so..buttery!” Pumpkin, sweet potatoes, squash…I have no self control in these departments.

IMG_1216

And kale. Obsession with greens is not a bad thing.

By the way, my favorite way to enjoy butternut squash is simply to stick it in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. No seasonings, no oil. Just AMAZING.

As for this morning, I was really feeling the vanilla.

IMG_1219

Oats and chia seeds cooked in vanilla almond milk, with vanilla extract. Before reheating this morning, I added crumbled cashews and vanilla protein powder.

 

 Sunday Seven

Two extra things since I’m two days late?  I think that’s fair.

1.  Orac-Energy Greens

IMG_1222

Do you get enough greens? This packet, which I picked up at a local health foods store, I positively loaded with nutrients. Even if you eat a lot of veggies, this packet will give you a great autumn immune boost!

IMG_1223

2.  Fall = reintroduction of sparkly nail polishes

IMG_1228

I’m currently wearing OPI: Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous

But I’m really loving these:

image image

image Orly Lucky Duck and Space Cadet; OPI Ginger Bells

3.  Chia Seeds

chchchchia

From getchia.com:

Chia is an evidence-based registered variety of Salvia hispanica L. and is nutritionally superior to flax and soy. Chia is the richest non-marine whole food source of Omega-3 and dietary fiber currently known to man.
Chia promotes cardiovascular health: According to the American Heart Association, Omega-3 fatty acids can normalize blood pressure and bad cholesterol levels, while helping promote healthy heart and blood vessels.
Chia assists joint function and mobility: With six times more calcium than milk, and with greater amounts of high-quality protein than the one found in soy, Chia also helps strengthen muscles and bones.
Chia improves digestion and natural detoxification: Chia can absorb a whopping 12+ times its weight in water – flax seed only absorbs 6-8 times its weight. Chia´s insoluble fiber reduces digestive transit time and removes toxins as it passes through the digestive tract.
Chia supports healthy weight loss: Chia´s high fiber content and its ability to reduce blood sugar levels after meals inhibits the appetite, thus making it the perfect food for healthy, effective weight loss. Thanks to its neutral flavor and color, Chia integrates seamlessly into any healthy recipe.

 

4.  “I think I need a Ginger Ale”

IMG_1154

I am not a soda person.  In fact, I stopped drinking it when I was about 10 (at that point, I was a total Dr. Pepper and Code Red Mountain Dew addict) and I haven’t had a can/bottle/glass since! It’s way to sweet and syrupy to me, and nothing about it is good for you.  I was a little hesitant to try this ginger ale, but it’s all natural, sugar and HFCS free, and simply sweetened with Stevia. Aaand, I really liked it!  I’m still a water person, but I’d definitely drink this again.

IMG_1155

5.  I’m not a huge cat person, but this is hysterical:

Reposted from Carrots ‘n’ Cake

6. Why fitness shortcuts will never replace hard work:

Check out this article, from Glamour.com, about the latest on toning tennis shoes.

image

This may come as a shock, but guess what? They best way to improve muscle tone is to clean up your diet and exercise! I know, it’s a little crazy. Now, if these shoes make you think your muscles are being toned and you therefore workout harder, then go for it.  They don’t, however, have superpowers.

7. Oskri Bars

At Smoothie King, we not only sell smoothies, but vitamins/minerals, supplements, protein and performance powders, and snacks.  In fact, we have a huge variety of protein bars.  I think a lot of customers assume that these bars are healthy, and I cringe whenever someone picks up a 350 calorie beastly bar and asks me if it will help him/her lose weight. Most of those bars are really just glorified Snickers – although they offer a lot of protein, they often have over 25% of your daily fats, are high in calories, and are loaded with sugar to combat the inherent protein taste. Oskri bars are one of the only kinds that I’ll actually eat.

They come between 100-170 calories, depending on the variety, contain only natural, familiar ingredients (read: you could actually make them yourself without converting your kitchen into a chemistry lab), are vegan, gluten/lactose free, and are low in fat and high in protein.

image

My favorites are the Cashew & Cranberries, the Date Bar, and the Muesli Bar. I buy a bunch of them, and I’ll take a few, break them into thirds, bag ‘em, and eat one before each early morning workout. They give me just the right amount of all-natural fuel!

I’ll be back later with some really awesome news!  Enjoy this wonderful Sunday weather!

One thought on “Sunday…Seven?

Leave a Reply

