The Saturday of Culinary Heaven


Hi!  Did everyone have a good weekend? I did – especially on Saturday. DELISH.

It started out a little rocky though: I had big plans for a morning session at the gym, but I couldn’t seem to get out of the house.  I kept forgetting things! In an out, in an out.  Every time I got to my car, I realized I’d left something at home.  I even got to the end of the street TWICE and had to turn around.  Early Alzheimer’s, anyone?

Despite the frustration, I somehow managed to be on schedule, and when I got to the gym I jumped straight onto the elliptical for a 20 minute warm up…and Women’s Health magazine time.

image

Side note about the elliptical: this is possibly the most popular cardio machine at the gym, but also the most misused.  You’ll often find people (mostly women, admittedly) just pedaling away at a moderate, unchanging pace for over an hour. These people are usually motivated by the calories-burned display screen.  “800 calories!  1000 calories! And the elliptical isn’t nearly as tortuous as the stair climber or running on the treadmill!”  But really, even if you put in a lot of time, you’ll never get results without hard work. Muscle cannot be built (hence upping metabolism and thereby burning fat more efficiently) without fatiguing – and breaking down – those muscles.  Don’t get me wrong though, I still like the elliptical, and there is an effective way of using it.  I use intervals or a varying hill program and then I change the resistance every few minutes.  I also make sure I stop reading/watching TV periodically to make sure I’m working hard and my heart rate is up.

Wow! That was a rant.  So anyway…

After my 20 minutes, it was time to run!  Now that I’m training for a 10k, the motivation to run is back big time.  I used to do it about 5 times per week, but it was hard on my joints after a while and I got a bit bored.  This time, I’ve got a goal and a bottle of MSM + Glucosamine.  No joint pain here! Now I’ve just got to get mom to start training…

After a great, energetic run, I chomped a Clif Bloc and took a 30 minute core class.  Half an hour seems like nothing, but dang those planks (with some cur-azy modifications) go on forever! Zumba was a such a breeze after all that.  I got to go up on stage for one of my favorites:

With every Zumba class I take, I get more and more excited to teach my own classes!  I’ve been talking to a lot of other Gold’s instructors lately, as well, and they are all so encouraging.  I’m feeling pretty confident – let’s just hope I pass my test in 2 weeks!

Oh, and while I was there, a woman came up to me, looking slightly bewildered, and said, “Do you take every class here?”

I couldn’t help but giggle.  Why, yes, I pretty much do.

As always, I left the gym feeling sweaty and fantastic.  Then it was off to spend a gift card at Kaldi’s!

IMG_0676

IMG_0675

I was starving when I arrived for my blogging/homework/fitness-studying marathon, so I ordered:

IMG_0918

A veggie burger with an apple on the side and the obligatory bottomless cup of coffee.  The lighting was terrible for photography, but trust me – this was an amazing veggie burger. And it, along with all Kaldi’s food that isn’t made from scratch onsite, is local, vegan, and has no cholesterol, trans or saturated fats, hormones, or antibiotics!

IMG_0920

Not one to eat a sandwich as it’s given to me, I asked for a fork, ate the veggie burger alone, and then half the bun! The red sauce you see on the top bun, there? Not ketchup! That’s red pepper mango sauce, and so much better than ketchup.

Powered by yummy lunch and about 54 cups of coffee, I had a productive 5-ish hours at Kaldi’s! I was also lucky to get a bar spot along the window – it’s the perfect spot for standing instead of sitting, which I’m not good at doing for long periods of time.

I also snacked on a peach Fruition bar:

IMG_0921

I snagged it at the grocery store for 1 dollar, as you can see!

I really liked the fruit and oatmeal combo – it was not a traditional granola bar, and it was more filling, too.

IMG_0923

IMG_0922

And it was a nutritional win: 160 calories and good-for-you ingredients. 21g of sugar is more than I usually go for, but at least it was naturally occurring fructose from the fruit.

I had to get to work by 6:30, but I just so happened to be nearby my favorite vegan restaurant, so I called ahead for a carry-out dinner order at VegaDeli. I don’t get to eat there often, so I was super excited!

I ordered a Raw Pad Thai Pasta: “Zucchini ‘Pasta’ with Carrots, Black Olives, Cilantro, Peppers, Herbs & Thai Nut Sauce” as well as a Chill-Out Juice, which was cucumber, apple, and celery. I’ve only had fresh squeezed veggie juice once before, and I really didn’t like it then.  I think it had carrots and ginger, and I didn’t even finish it.  But I was determined to try (and like) it again!

I went with an 8 oz, just in case:

IMG_0924

It was an ominous shade of green, but how could I not like something made with vegetables? Turns out, it was okay.  I guess I’m just not a veggie juice fan. I chased it with a raw banana oat ball thing that I just couldn’t pass up at Vegadeli.  Sorry there’s no picture – it went straight into my mouth!  I ate it in the car on the way to work, and I probably freaked out other drivers with my looks of ecstasy.  It was positively foodgasmic.  There’s no other way to describe it.

My Raw Pad Thai was enjoyed lovingly at work, since I arrived early. Zucchini noodles rock.  Eat them, please, just don’t eat mine!

IMG_0926

Ohmygoshsogood. My coworkers think I’m weird, and I’m okay with that!

Open-mouthed smile

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

