Sweet Bites


What a busy week!  Most of my days involved being away from home all day and going straight from school, to work, to the gym.  On my busiest days, I had to change clothes 5 times! Tights and leotard for ballet, more relaxed dance clothes for modern, “regular people” clothes for classes, my work uniform, and then gym clothes!

The passenger seat of my car now usually looks like this:

IMG_0889

At least I’m feeling better now!  Although I’ve heard that Echinacea doesn’t do anything, I think it really worked.  I’ve never gotten over a cold so quickly!  Then again, I eat much better now than I used to – maybe all the veggies helped.

Amidst all the craziness, I did find time to re-dye my hair.

IMG_0878

Before (being a frizzgoofball):

hair

After:

hair3

Not much of a difference, but I feel refreshed, and that’s all that matters.  I absolutely love my professional stylist, but I just can’t afford him right now.  Sorry, Bob!

Eats, Eats, Eats

This week I ran out of oatmeal, Stevia, and Better’n Butter (the horror!) but I managed a rockin’ breakfast the other day:

IMG_0887

Steel-cut oats cooked in Almond milk (which provided some of the sweetness I missed since I was sans Stevia), with a little cocoa mixed in, plus apples and cinnamon!

IMG_0888

Delish.  But unfortunately, my Tuesday/Thursday school schedule is so busy that I have 5 minutes to wolf down lunch in my car:

IMG_0890

Moe’s salad gleaned from work the previous day: lettuce (with more from home), black beans, tofu, guac, and mixed veggies.

To make up for all the rushing, I spent a bit of downtime here:

IMG_0894

I took advantage of a stellar Groupon for The Crooked Tree Coffee House (conveniently located about 2 minutes from my school) – $5 for five 20 oz. (bottomless!) coffees!

IMG_0892

It’s got a cute, comfy vibe.

IMG_0893

And a typewriter, which isn’t  blurry in real life!  Maybe I’ll work up the courage to try it someday. I assume it’s for public use.

But I know the semester has really begun when I find myself reading Beowulf (again) on the stationary bike:

IMG_0895

I did this after elliptical and treadmill HIIT, and my arms were so sweaty I could hardly keep them on the armrests!

IMG_0897

Reading is a good workout.

Yesterday’s lunch was enjoyed in the school library, and even though I was super rushed when I put it together, it was good!

IMG_0900

“lunchbox”

sj

Bread with my mom’s vegan sloppy joes.  I’ll have to get the recipe from her. YUM! Oh, and I clearly have a hard time remembering to take a picture BEFORE I eat!

IMG_0901

Yogurt mess: soy yogurt with mango, strawberries, and kamut puffs + choco protein powder + cinnamon, the last three of which I added just before eating.  No soggy cereal!

IMG_0903

Side salad with tomato, broccoli, and cauliflower. And NOOCH!

IMG_0905

The star of the show: Chocolate Banana Protein Cake!  I came up with this recipe last week, made them in bulk, and popped them into the freezer.  I took this out in the morning and it was thawed to perfection by lunchtime.

IMG_0906

These are delicious and surprisingly filling. Recipe coming soon!

But what was the best part of the week? Date night with Sean!

We went to an old favorite restaurant, Selam Ethiopian, in U City – one of my favorite areas in STL! We were the only one’s there for a while. It was a little weird. The waiter turned on music to make us feel more comfortable.

IMG_0911

Selam is a total hole in the wall and the food is glorious. We aren’t alone in feeling this way apparently – 93% like it on Urbanspoon!

IMG_0908

Both meals on one dish! My half was the vegetarian combo, while Sean’s meat combo is on the other half. We also both have little salads there.  Starting below my salad on the left, there were samplings of 1. Chickpeas 2. Collards 3. Cabbage and carrots 4. Lentils.  There was more to them, but I really didn’t know much about what I was eating!  The center one was mine, too, and I have no clue what that was.

IMG_0909

But they were all fantastic and they were all demolished. And served with injera!

It’s a spongy, bread-like thing, which you tear into pieces and scoop up bits of food.  No utensils!

IMG_0910

I think Sean tried to make me promise not to take pictures of him, but I may have pretended not to listen.

After dinner, we walked around U City.

IMG_0912

You know it’s a great area when a place sells authentic German beer – Munich beer, to be exact.  Sean actually took my there on my 21st birthday.  The only beer I even remotely like is German beer. Sean pointed out that beer is vegan. Hahaha.

image

And then we went to FroYo! Oh, how I love thee. Not vegan.

IMG_0913

I like to make complex flavor creations: valencia orange sorbet, strawberry banana, thin mint, and New York cheesecake.  All topped with mango and blueberries! To me, it doesn’t matter if the flavors clash – I eat them one at a time, anyway! Sean went with full-to-the-brim cup of white chocolate froyo with blueberries, but I didn’t get a picture because it was gone in 3.5 seconds.

All in all…awesome guy, awesome night!

Except, ladies and gentlemen, I am now the proud owner of 46 mosquito  bites on my legs.  Yes, I counted. And yes, they really, really, REALLY itch.

IMG_0927

Okay, I’m going to find some aloe or calamine lotion or something. Anything.  So itchy!  Hope every one is having a good weekend!  I’ll be back later with a recap of my wonderful, yummy-food-filled Saturday!

Leave a Reply

