(Belated)Friday Five


Ahh…I’m officially in weekend mode.  Sean is due to arrive pretty soon (I need a good date night!) so I’m going to jump right into a new series here on TGT: the Friday Five!  Every Friday I’ll feature links to 5 things that I’m into right now.  Some will be health/fitness related, while others will be whatever makes me smile, teaches me something, or catches my eye. Kay?

This week’s theme is podcasts. I’ve gotten tired of all the “popular Summer music” (if I hear that “today I don’t feel like doin’ anything’ song again while I’m driving, I just might run my car off the road) and my old music is getting a little old, too.  Podcasts are my new solution: they’re free and most of them are equal parts entertaining and informative. (Read: you’re going to learn something, but you won’t feel like you’re back in school) While iTunes offers a plethora of podcasts of all genres, it’s unsurprising that I gravitate to the fitness podcasts.  I just download them off iTunes, plug in my headphones, and I’m good to go.  Even though most are geared to people who are overweight, a body is a body, and people of all sizes will highly benefit. Most people are either trying to lose weight or trying to maintain their healthy weight, and these podcasts can help you do both.

So without further ado…

This Girl’s Top 5 Podcasts (in no particular order)

1. Nutrition Diva: Quick and Dirty Tips, by Monica Reinagel.

Monica Reinagel is “a board-certified Licensed Nutritionist and professionally trained chef.” Her podcasts are short and concise, generally only about 6-10 minutes long. There’s no nonsense – she gets right to the point! Reinagel answers tricky nutrition questions and addresses topics such as “Do Herbal Supplements Work?” “Does Eating Late Cause Weight Gain?” “Health Benefits of Chocolate” “Healthy Eating Tips for College Kids” and “Foods to Avoid During Pregnancy.”

2. Fat 2 Fit Radio, by Russ Turley and Jeff Ainslie

I have learned so much from this podcast. According to their website, “The show is not about fad diets, or get skinny quick schemes. We’re advocating weight loss through lifestyle change, not quick fixes – they simply don’t exist. Stop eating and acting like a fat person and start emulating the diet and habits of a fit person. During each episode we’ll tackle one or more exercise, fitness or diet topics. Week after week if you incorporate the ideas and tips we’re sharing, you will lose weight and start looking and feeling better.” Even though I’m not looking to lose weight, this show really helped me to understand that simply cutting calories is not the solution to being a healthy size – sometimes you actually need to be eating more!

3. Vegetarian Food for Thought, by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

Colleen Patrick-Goudreau is fabulous.  That is all.  The author of such books as Color Me Vegan, The Joy of Vegan Baking, Vegan’s Daily Companion, and The 30-Day Vegan Challenge, Patrick-Goudreau offers veganism and vegetarianism as a compassionate way of living.  Rather than attacking the omnivorous world with negativity and anger, she empowers listeners to make more informed food choices.  She is incredibly intelligent, level-headed, and kind. It’s very enlightening, even if you aren’t vegan or vegetarian.

4. The Jillian Michaels Show, by Jillian Michaels

Unsurprisingly, Jillian Michaels and her cohost, Janice, dish out frank and forthright nutrition and exercise tips. Despite her tough public image, however, Jillian Michaels has a kind heart and she’s human, too, which is good to hear: even Jillian Michaels can get carried away with Oreo’s! And although she’s very commercial, she’s very well-learned and honest, and I trust everything she says.

5. Ted Talks

I’m throwing this one in, even though it’s not health-related, physically, that is.  It’s good for your soul!  TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) is a nonprofit organization that’s all about “ideas worth spreading.” TED hosts several annual conferences featuring today’s great innovative thinks, talented people, and people with remarkable stories.  You can listen to or watch them online or on your iPhone. They are helpfully categorized into genres such as courageous, ingenious, fascinating, beautiful, funny, and informative.  These are incredibly inspiring, especially when you’re having a rough day.

There you go!  I apologize for not having this posted on Friday.  Feel free to yell at my crabby blog-processing software.

Have a good Saturday!

Leave a Reply

