Dough Bowl


I hope everyone is having a good morning!  Today is shaping up to be challenging but pretty awesome. Lots of physical activity and lots of work! My goal is to maintain my energy throughout the day.

They best way for me to be sure my day starts well? 5:30 a.m. Body Pump and a delish breakfast.  I know I’ve mentioned it before, but there is just something so empowering and confidence-boosting about Pump early in the morning.  Don’t get me wrong: when I got into bed last night (@ 11:30, even though I keep trying to go to sleep earlier) my lazy side came up with several a couple reasons why I should skip Pump and sleep in.  But I’ve found that the best solution is to “just do it” (thanks, Nike!) and don’t even think about how early it is.  Afterward, not only do I feel stronger, but I have more time to get things done throughout the day!

Breakfast was my new favorite twist on PBJ Almond Oats:

IMG_0788

 

Changes: I used oat bran! Just grind old fashioned oats in a food processor for a 30 seconds to 1 minutes or until it looks like a thick, grainy flour.

I then left it overnight mixed with almond milk and Greek yogurt before combining it with my usual add-ins in the morning. Plus pecans this morning! Oh, and I ate it cold, too.  The only microwave use was in thawing my frozen banana slices. 

The combo of oat bran, yogurt, and bananas results in a very doughy/batter-like bowl of oats. So thick, so yuuuummm.

pbjalmondoatbran

I rolled with the same breakfast yesterday, but I only had enough time to eat it in the parking lot before going into work! Yesterday’s had cinnamon…a lot of it, apparently, as the container was empty this morning!

IMG_0782

Now it’s time for a little reading and relaxation (and errand-running) until I work at 1.  There’s some foam-rolling on the agenda, too, as I want my muscles to feel refreshed in time for Body Combat tonight.

Aaaand nail-painting.  Check out my new Essie color! 

essie

It’s a rich, pretty scarlet – a good summer/fall transition color!

I’m seriously obsessed with nail polish and will generally only wear OPI or Essie.  The problem with my new Smoothie King job, however, is that I have to wash my hands a lot and my nail polish doesn’t last very long.  Maybe I just need to do a better topcoat.  And this is what my toenail polish looks like at the moment:

IMG_0795

I started painting them a few nights ago but I was too exhausted/impatient to finish.  Pretty pathetic, huh?  I completely forgot about it (my feet have spent most of their time in my work shoes lately!) until yoga class last night.  Whoops!  Hopefully nobody noticed.

But I’m REALLY excited for tonight…I’m watching the So You Think You Can Dance finale!  I think I’m rooting for Melanie.  They are all such gifted dancers, though, so I’ll be happy no matter what.

See you shortly before the show for my thoughts on this season! Also coming soon: I tried the slightly scary-looking zero calorie spaghetti sauce…and I have a lot to say about it.

Open-mouthed smile

Leave a Reply

