Recipe: PB&J Almond Oats


 

I LOVE oatmeal in the mornings.  Sometimes I switch things up and do scrambled tofu with veggie and toast, but nothing keeps me full and happy like oatmeal does. In the past, I’ve just made my regular overnight oats and threw in random ingredients in the morning: banana, strawberries, blueberries, nuts, peaches…

Lately, though, I’ve been doing more experimenting.  Some of them haven’t turned out as well as I’d hoped:

appleoats

Last week’s rather baby food-ish Applesauce Oats…

IMG_0720

As well as this concoction involving a leftover Coffee-Chocolate Gladiator smoothie from Smoothie King.  In my head, that one should have been outstanding. Something just wasn’t right.   Maybe I’ll revisit it and play with the proportions a bit.

My PB&J Almond Oats, on the other hand, were a smash hit in my stomach. Sometimes, it’s just best to keep things simple!

PB&J Almond Oats

– 1/2 cup old fashioned or rolled oats

– 1/2 cup Almond Milk

– 1 cup water

To be added later (preferably the next morning):

– 1/2 banana

– 1 T Better n’ Butter (or nut butter of your choice, but this kind is lower cal and also melts better in the oats than most pb)

– 1 T raspberry or strawberry sugar-free preserves (or jam of your choice.  Jellies tend to be loaded with sugar)

– Stevia or other sweetener to taste

At night before you go to bed:

1. In a large container (it should be larger than you think it needs to be, as the oats will puff up in the microwave, and I’ve seen them overflow!), combine oats, almond milk, and water.

IMG_0749

milk

IMG_0752

(Not the prettiest picture, but that’s what it should look like)

2. Microwave, uncovered, for 2:30-3:00 minutes. Oats should be frothy and watery.

micoat

3. Refrigerate overnight or at least a few hours.  This allows the oatmeal to soak up the water, increasing the volume way beyond the regular stovetop method. More food for the same calories!

In the morning:

1. Your oatmeal is chilly and wants to be eaten.  Remove from fridge.

IMG_0756

2. Banana time: You can add them either before of after microwaving.  Sometimes I pre-slice my bananas and freeze them, in which case I add them before microwaving.

IMG_0759

3. Microwave for 2-2:30 minutes.

IMG_0760

4. Give it a good stir.  Then add your Better n’ Butter, stirring until evenly distributed.  Also add the preserves, but don’t break it up too much or you’ll lose the taste.

butter

5. Sweeten to your liking and sprinkle with chopped almonds, if you’d like.

And yum.

IMG_0694

Picnik collage

Leave a Reply

