Sexy Bread


I’d like to be all responsible and say that I went to bed early on Monday to be well-rested for my first day of work, but that would be a lie.  I got up early to hit the gym! 

Prior to a few weeks ago, I’d never been to the gym before 8:30 in the morning.  I figured I would end up dreading my workouts if I made myself get up early.  But I proved myself wrong!  I wouldn’t do it every day, but it was rather enjoyable.

Yesterday I arrived at Gold’s at 5:30 to do some cardio (elliptical and stairs) and then hit up the 6:30-7:00 Cx30 (intense core workout!) class.  But not before a pre-gym car snack!

IMG_0624

Whole Foods date roll (with coconut!) for quick energy and a spoonful of Better ‘n’ Butter for protein. And I just realized that the spoon is still in my car. Ick.

My arrival back home at 7:15 landed me pretty close to the time I’d normally be making breakfast.  So cool!  It was as if I’d gotten in a great workout without taking any precious time out of my day.  I’m definitely going to go in early when I know I’m going to be really busy.

I was REALLY  excited for breakfast. I’ve never given in to the freshly baked breads at Whole Foods, but I couldn’t pass up their “Seduction roll!”

seduction1

Look at all of that whole grain goodness!  I love really texture-filled, grainy breads like this.They’re a rare, special treat!Hardly anything beats a nice bowl of oats for my breakfasts, but this is an exception. However, I ended up removing a lot of the toasted sunflower seeds since there were a lot of them baked into the bread.  It would have been a sunflower seed overkill.

seduction2

I also made an egg white omelet with red bell peppers, onions, and basil.  If you’ve never put basil on your eggs, I highly suggest you try it.  It even smells amazing.omfail

Sadly, it was an omelet FAIL.  But that’s okay, I favor taste over appearance!

Picnik collage

I also love to put sriracha sauce on my eggs.  I little goes a long way – that stuff is hot!   Oh, and a clementine found its way onto my plate, too.

When mom saw me eating breakfast in my workout clothes, she figured I was about to go take a class.

Mom: “Are you going to the gym?  I thought you had to work.”

Me: “I already went to the gym!”

Mom: “You’re a freak.”

I love my mom.

Time to get my smoothie on.

What is your ideal workout time? Have any of your night-time exercisers been pleasantly surprised to find that mornings/days aren’t quite so bad?

2 thoughts on “Sexy Bread

  1. Hi Taya! I don’t get to see you often but now I can stalk you on your blog! Let me know how many times you do that early workout thing! Though, it is good to get it out of the way for the day! If you didn’t receive my text last night, you look stunning in the Weissman’s catalog!

    • Hi! I’m so happy you found my blog – I could use a good stalker! Thank you so much for the Weissman’s compliment! It is such a fun job and so rewarding to see the final results. I’m so blessed!

      I’ve been doing the early workouts 2 or 3 times a week for the past few weeks. I was scared the first time: I thought I’d be lacking in energy or just miserable because I didn’t get to be in bed. But I realized I may even have more energy in the mornings rather than at the end of the day when I start getting tired. Plus, it gives me confidence that I can power through anything that’s thrown at me throughout the day!

Leave a Reply

