Ghosts of Writers Past


Happy Sunday!  Speaking of Sundays, I’ve just realized that I’m entirely dependent upon my gym schedule when it comes to knowing what day of the week it is.  Just yesterday, my grandma asked me what day it was, and I replied, “Zumba day…so it must be Saturday.”  Should I be concerned?

Sunday = yoga!

But first, I woke up with some overnight oats

IMG_0570

Into a big ole tupperware last night went:

– 1/2 cup oats

– 1 1/2 cups water

– cinnamon

It was all nuked lovingly for 2 and a half minutes, and then popped in the fridge overnight! This morning I added:

– Small handful of blueberries (unfortunately frozen)

– 4 crunched up almonds

– Stevia and cinnamon

– Glob of Better ‘n’ Butter +more as I worked my way through the bowl.

IMG_0571

Gym time was next.  I usually pump out an hour of cardio before yoga, but my stomach has been playing games with me over the past few days. I figured an hour of yoga would make me feel a little better.  And it did!  Hopefully I’ll be back to 100% so I can head back to the gym tonight.  My body isn’t quite ready for a big workout, but I’m craving the endorphins, my fave immediate benefit of exercise!

I didn’t take pictures of my post-yoga lunch, but it was pretty basic since my stomach is being picky.  I had a veggie burger, sandwich thin (eaten separately from the burger since I’m incapable of not picking apart my food), some guac, and a clementine.  We are seriously low on vegetables!

Then it was time for something I love almost as much as food…

IMG_0602

BOOKS!!!

My grandma is getting ready to move, which means I get a bunch of stuff she doesn’t want anymore!  Christmas decorations, cups and glasses, pots and pans…a lot of things that will really come in handy once I move out.  So today I decided to be a good granddaughter by taking some lovely books off her hands! Winking smile

In case you didn’t know, I’m a book FREAK.  I love them all, and pretty much regard them as my children! I definitely am a tough critic (don’t even get me started on Twilight) but the actual physical books are all of value to me.

I have a special fondness for antique books.  Think of all the history they have been through! In my opinion, books are very personal things.  They contain such a deep part of the writer – a part which we, as readers, are invited to share.  This one (below), Dred by Harriet Beecher Stowe, is from 1856!  It might be my oldest one yet.

hbs

Writers die and fade away, but texts are capable of living forever.  Like a textual time machine, books can allow a reader to have a private communication with the author and with the story.

oldbooks

Once the book is published, it is out of the author’s hands, and once it has a reader, it belongs to that reader. I love to imagine how many owners a book has had, how many people have been touched by it.

oldbooks4 

My very favorite antique books are ones that have been written in!  See all the writing on the inside of the book below?  That is the work of Ray Moore, my great-uncle (brother of my great grandfather).  He was the co-creator and illustrator of the Phantom comics!

oldbooks2

My only problem with all of these treasures?

shelves

bookshelves

No space on my bookshelves! What a terrible problem.

My healthy tip for today?  Find a good book to sink into…give your mind and body time to relax. Happy Sunday evening!

Leave a Reply

